2021Luigi Sacconi Medal of the Italian Chemical Society (Societa Chimica Italiana)
2021Election to the Northrhine-Westfalia Academy of Sciences
2018Election to the Academia Europea
2018The Harry Emmett Gunning Lecture Series, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2017Ceremonial Lecturer on the occasion of the 150th Anniversary of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh) and the 125th Anniversary of the journal
2017Ceremonial Lecturer on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of UniCat and BIG-NSE, Berlin, GermanyThomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher
2017The 27th Rudolf Brdička Memorial Lecturer at the J. Heyrovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry, Prague, Czech Republic
2017Johnston Lectureship in honor of Harold Johnston, Emory University, Atlanta, GA, USA
2017Löwdin Lectureship, Quantum Theory Project, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
2017Award Lecturer, William B. Tolman Award Symposium, 253rd ACS National Meeting & Exposition, San Francisco, CA, USA
2017Ceremonial Lecturer on the occasion of "The 2017 Golden Symposium of the Lise Meitner Center for Computational Quantum Chemistry", Jerusalem, Israel
2016"The Roger E. Miller Lecturer" on the occasion of the The 32nd Symposium on Chemical Physics at the University of Waterloo (SCP 2016), Waterloo, Canada
2016"Conseils Solvay" Lecturer on the occasion of the 24th Solvay Conference on Chemistry – Catalysis in Chemistry and Biology, Brussels, Belgium
2016Ceremonial Lecturer on the occasion of the awards ceremony of the Dr. Barbara Mez-Starck-Stiftung, Ulm, Germany
2016Coulson Lectureship, University of Georgie, Athens, Georgia
2015Member of the exclusive circle of invited guests on the occassion of the bilateral celebration of "50 years German-Israeli diplomatic relations" Symposium: "Chemistry: The Central Science" of the Leopoldina and the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (IASH)
2015"Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher", listed among the worldwide top 1% cited researchers
2015Davidson Lectureship, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas
2014"Kohlenforschung Centennial Lectureship", Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Germany
2013“Jean Perrin Reader” for the year 2013
2013Schulich Lectureship, University of Haifa. Honorary member of the Israelian Society of Chemistry
2013Election to the Leopoldina Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften (Germany National Academy of Sciences)
2012Election to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences
2010Gottfried-Wilhelm Leibniz Award of the German Science Foundation
2010McElvain Lecture, University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
2009Early Career Award of the International Society for Bioinorganic Chemistry
2008Klung-Wilhelmy-Weberbank award for outstanding young German Chemists and Physicists
2008First Chemist to be appointed as “Max Planck fellow” of the Max Planck Society
2007Lise Meitner Award for "Outstanding young German Scientists" from the Minerva Supercomputing Center, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel
2005Award of the Northrhine-Westfalia Academy of Sciences for outstanding contributions of younger scientists (download speech Karl-Arnold Preis)
2005Hellmann Award of the German Theoretical Chemistry Society for the Development and Application of new Theoretical Methods
Go to Editor View