You are here: Home > Institute > Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung consists of 5 departments, each of which is led by a director and scientific member. One of the scientific members serves as the executive director of the institute for a period of 3 years. The managing board is completed by the administrative director.


Managing director

Prof. Dr. Tobias Ritter
phone: +49(0)208/306-2414


Director and scientific member

Prof. Dr. Alois Fürstner
Prof. Dr. Benjamin List
Prof. Dr. Frank Neese
Prof. Dr. Tobias Ritter
Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth


Administrative director

Dr. Hermann Thole
phone: +49(0)208/306-2010