1. Manfred T. Reetz was chosen to be the first Hans-Meerwein-Research-Professor at Philipps-University in Marburg. 
Following the termination of his contract as Director at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung at the age of 68 years, Manfred T. Reetz has moved to the Philipps-University in Marburg, where he was recently elected to become the first Hans-Meerwein-Research-Professor. At his new site he directs a group of six coworkers, financed by a special fund of the Max-Planck-Society and the Mülheim MPI. Thus, he has two appointments, namely external (emeritus) group leader of the MPI für Kohlenforschung and member of the Marburg chemistry faculty.

2. Paper by Reetz group selected by Faculty 1000 as top contribution.
The post-publication peer review organization Faculty 1000 has evaluated and selected the recent publication of the Reetz group regarding "Regio- and stereoselectivity of P450-cataysed hydroxylation of steroids by laboratory evolution" (S. Kille, F. E. Zilly, J. P. Acevedo, M. T. Reetz, Nature Chem. 2011, 3, 738-743). Election of a publication to F1000 places the work of the "top 2% of published articles in biology and medicine".

3. Manfred T. Reetz has been selected to receive the Otto-Hahn-Prize for his seminal contributions to methodology development in synthetic organic chemistry, especially for his concept of directed evolution of stereoselective enzymes as catalysts in asymmetric transformations. The € 50,000 endowed prize, initiated in 2005, is awarded every two years by the German Chemical Society (GDCh), The German Physics Society (DPG) and the city of Frankfurt/Main (the birthplace of Otto-Hahn). Past winners are Theodor Hänsch (physics/2005), Gerhard Ertl (chemistry/2007) and Stefan Hell (physics/2009). The ceremony took place on November 22, 2011 in the historic Paulskirche in Frankfurt/Main.

4. Manfred T. Reetz has been selected to receive another prestigious award, namely the international Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry 2011, endowed with $10,000.

Go to Editor View