Ernst Haage-Prize for Chemistry 2020

December 08, 2020

Dr. Roberta Properzi and Nico Tchorz are among the awardees

The Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI CEC), the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, and the Ernst Haage Foundation in Mülheim an der Ruhr have announced the awardees for the Ernst Haage Prize for Chemistry.

The Ernst-Haage award was established in 2006. It awards outstanding young scientists in the field of chemistry in three categories who share the total prize money of 12,500 €.

This year’s awardees are:

Dr. Crispin Lichtenberg: National Ernst Haage Prize 2020
Crispin Lichtenberg received his doctorate with distinction in Aachen in 2013 and has been an independent research group leader at the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry at the Julius-Maximilians-University of Würzburg since 2016.
He is being honored for his groundbreaking contributions to the molecular chemistry of Bismuth. Due to their unusual structural motifs, high reactivity and selectivity combined with minimizing environmentally harmful components, his chemical compounds have the potential to sustainably enrich main group chemistry and catalysis in the respective area. Dr. Lichtenberg has received numerous awards and has already gained an impressive international reputation at a young age.

Dr. Roberta Properzi and Dr. Akash Kaithal: Ernst Haage Prize for Doctoral Students 2020

Akash Kaithal receives the prize for his outstanding PhD thesis in Prof. Leitner’s group at MPI CEC titled „Ruthenium(II) and Manganese(I) Catalyzed Organic Transformations via Hydrogen Transfer Reactions” in which he focused on new synthetically useful reactions based on the principles of Green Chemistry and involving the de- and re-hydrogenation of functional groups.

Roberta Properzi is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher in Prof. List’s Department of Homogeneous Catalysis at the MPI für Kohlenforschung. She is awarded with the Ernst Haage Prize for her contribution to the chemistry of non-classical carbocations, specifically for engaging the 2-norbornyl cation in highly enantioselective catalytic addition reactions.

Ernst Haage Apprenticeship Prize 2020: Christian Kahl und Nico Tchorz

With the Ernst Haage Apprenticeship Prize, Christian Kahl (MPI CEC) and Nico Tchorz (MPI für Kohlenforschung) are awarded for their exceptional performance.

Award ceremony and conference postponed to 2021

The festive award ceremony usually takes place during a two-day conference that brings internationally renowned scientists to Mülheim. This year, however, the conference and the ceremony cannot take place. The awardees will be honored during the symposium in 2021.

The Ernst Haage Foundation

The launch of the Ernst Haage Foundation in 2006 for the support of young researchers was possible thanks to a generous private donation. The foundation's Board of Trustees, composed of a representative of the founder as well as the Executive Board of the Max Planck Institutes in Mülheim, honors excellent research achievements by young scientists in the field of chemistry each year with the Ernst Haage Prize.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View